STILL IN THE BACK OF THE LINE

Posted: January 11, 2013 in change, leadership, management, marketing, sales, social
Tags: , , , , ,
Image

MARK S. HAMPTON

As I write my new book I want to keep you in inspired! Look for my weekly updates. Every week I’ll post a new excerpt!  I want to;

  • Challenge you
  • Inspire  you 
  • Motivate you to lead!                                                                                          

Excerpt Opportunities are abounding and yet as quickly as they come they leave even faster. Steven Covey said; “we must seize the opportunity within its lifetime”   sighting that opportunities will present themselves but only those who respect opportunities and are grateful for them will have the wisdom to take full advantage of them. I guess that’s why I’m writing this book, I see an opportunity to communicate a message to my people African Americans and America as a whole. That message is; we as African Americans must get out of the back of the line and on to life!

However, before we start working on getting out of the line, we need to acknowledge some basics about life in America for African Americans and how we got in the line in the first place. Black folks were taught that their place in public life was at the back of the line. We were not permitted to face the public frontally. Our place was always in the back of the line of public life. Our relationship with America was only transactional not relational. We lived in a country that viewed us over the counter if you will. Our transaction was purely revenue generating and we were only as good as the revenue we generated for the country and when it became a matter of saving the union America did change its mind about what it was doing to African Americans. However, though America changed its mind at that time it had not changed its heart and in some circles that is very much true today.

Leave a comment